Christmas Memories

This year as Christmas was upon us, I found myself stressed. I wanted to do so many things-and then I read a blog post saying that it is okay to do less this Christmas season. I would share, but I can’t find it right now for some reason…But, the jist behind the post was that if it made us (parents/moms) want to yell, or actually yell, we shouldn’t do it.

Against my better judgement, we cut back on classes with Els and spent more time reading and just spending time together. The Christmas season came upon us and we were able to just enjoy each other. I found myself irritated or stressed out less, and more serene/in the moment more. (I just wish I could pass those happy feelings on to my DH-of course, men process things differently…) By the time Christmas Eve came around, I was less stressed about doing things and more concerned with making memories.

We made cookies-it was the first time that we not only made Christmas cookies together, but also that I allowed the kids to help in the kitchen. To understand better, it isn’t that I didn’t want them to help before, but I am a bit O.C.D. so when things aren’t just so it gets me. This year, on December 24, 2013, I chose to forget my O.C.D. tendencies  and let my kids enter a new realm. And boy did they love it! We spent all day rolling dough, cutting out stars,ginger bread men, Christmas trees, bells, and snowmen, baking cookies, and frosting them/adding sprinkles.

Not only did I not feel the urge to yell or get annoyed, but the kids got along, behaved all day, and had a blast! The small mess we made was worth all the special time we had together. It was the only thing we did this whole season (other than make special gifts for our family (I can’t say what yet-not everyone has gotten theirs yet! LOL) and everyone in the house had a great time and loved every minute.

Els has asked each day if it is “next year yet” so we can bake all day again-of course I say no, but I also mention we can bake cookies any time. (except right now-we have soooo many left still!)

By now, you may be wondering what I’m getting at. I didn’t write this to brag on my mothering skills, I fail so many times and am still learning each day. My observation is, doing less really can be more. We spent this holiday season cuddling, watching movies, and then making cookies together-but it was so calm and relaxing, and we all enjoyed the time together. It was a great time, and the joy on the kids’ faces was so wonderful to see.

Moms (and Dads) out there-it can be so easy to get caught up in doing things, all year round, and sometimes, picking one or two things is all we really need. It isn’t about how much we can accomplish or how many activities we can squeeze into a week, month, or year. It’s about making memories with our children, making them feel special, and knowing that things don’t always go as planned. Sometimes, we have to do less in order to do more.

I never thought I would be writing about this-but I am so happy that I learned this lesson this year. It is in my nature to be efficient, doing more and getting more done, and stress about little things like toys on the floor or dishes in the sink. My hope is to learn to be less O.C.D. and more in the moment with the kids this year, to enjoy them while they are still little, and make beautiful memories with the kids that stay with them forever. ❤

God bless,

Sarah

 

<script>
(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-48161439-1’, ‘wordpress.com’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

</script>

Leave a Reply

