Losing is Winning

I have been very leery about posting on here about my weight. I would think about writing about my weight and goals, then turn off the computer with my tail between my legs.

It’s a fact. It is hard to talk about weight. Even when we are skinny, healthy, and in shape it can be hard. And I’m far from it.

But, I am getting better! And that is what spurred me to finally write. I am not going to sit here and tell you I work out for hours a day, take lots of walks, or even run miles a day. In fact, I can’t even say I’ve eaten super healthy. However, I can tell you that I am eating better portions, eating less snack foods, drinking more tea and water (opposed to energy drinks and coffee), and spending less time sitting down and more time doing something, whether with my kids or around the house.

And, it’s working! Since I started to eat healther (about Feb. 20th or so) I have lost 10 pounds. I know that isn’t a lot, but for me it is huge. You see, it is hard for me to lose weight, and having not worked out, this progress is even more exciting.  You see, I started at 220 lbs. My largest weight ever. I have many excuses for being that large, but honestly, at this point none of them are viable because I could have lost the weight before now. I have just been lazy, or overindulgent, if I think about it.

I am not proud of that. In fact, it embarrasses me to think I could be so bad about something as important as my health.  My goal is another 75 pounds this year. I know I can do it. But I have to get up and DO something. Eating better has helped, but now I need to work for it.

In an attempt to form some accountability for myself, I am going to share my goals with you.

1. Eat more green. I want more fruits and vegetables in my diet and less grains and sugars. (of the processed form)

2. Walk, Run, or work out for at least 20-30 minutes a day. I know I am busy with my kids, blog, homeschooling, and keeping house, but there is always time.

3. Drink a cup of green tea a day. (or add green tea to a snack/smoothie) I know it sounds weird, but to me I will go into the benefits of green tea in another blog post coming soon.

4. Drink 8-12 glasses of water a day and cut back juices and milk.

5. Lose  1.5-2.5 pounds a week. (lose 75-80 pounds by Jan 1, 2015)

 

I am looking forward to working toward these goals. Some I have already been working on. One of my weaknesses is eating out or getting pizza. I know I need to cut back on those. I have cut back on snacks and cookies, so I know it is possible. And I would like to point out that I am not looking to cut everything out of my diet because that sets me up to over indulge later when a favorite food is in front of me opposed to enjoying in small doses. I will post weekly (Sometimes daily, but I don’t want to promise that and forget lol) and let you know how I am doing with my goal. If I reach my goal early, it would be even better! 🙂

Thank you all for your support and I hope to write for you all again soon!

God bless,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

