Matcha, Matcha Man

Disclosure: I got this product as part of an advertorial.
What You Put in is What Will Come Out:

I understand I have told you about Matcha tea in the past and why it is so great-but I think that many of us are missing out on living a better, more energy filled life because we don’t understand how true the statement “what goes in is what comes out”  is.  Most food you eat and drinks you drink will give you some sort of energy.  But is it lasting energy? And some foods/drinks leave us lethargic, sleepy, and render us almost useless after we consume them. Is it all worth it? I have been asking myself that question a lot lately. Is what I am eating, really worth the calories, fat, and “satisfaction”?

And what about the caffeine? Does how we get it make a difference? How can we stay energetic, and maintain our health, without consuming large amounts of soda and energy drinks/supplements? Can we even do that?

 

On average, 80% of people  consume caffeine , and they consume about 200mg of caffeine a day.  (2 coffees or four sodas) Caffeine’s main purpose (when we consume it) is to help us feel more awake and alert for a while. And, the majority of us can attest to it’s effectiveness. But did you know that consuming too much caffeine, or the wrong kinds of caffeine can cause many short term and some long term health issues?

Health Related Issues from Caffeine:

  • Makes you jittery or shakey
  • Make is hard to fall asleep, stay asleep, or get a good night’s sleep (insomnia-if consumed later in the day/evening)
  • Rapid Heart rate
  • Uneven Heart Rhythm
  • Raise your blood pressure
  • Headaches, nervousness, and/or dizziness
  • Make you Dehydrated, especially after moderate exercise or physical activity
  • Can cause a caffeine addiction

What sources of caffeine can make things worse?

  • Energy Drinks-although some add essential vitamins and minerals now to make their product more “healthy” the average can of any given energy drink contains 200mg of caffeine. Drinking more than one energy drink in a 24 hour period can greatly increase the odds of experiencing one or more of the symptoms above.
  • Soda-all soda has it’s health risks, but when using soda to get caffeine, you are also getting all the added sugars/artificial sweeteners, dyes, and no added vitamins and minerals. In addition to all that, studies show that one serving of soda slows the production of white blood cells for up to 5 hours increasing your chances of getting sick.
  • Energy Shots- as with energy drinks, shots typically add vitamins and minerals. Due to their nature, they don’t tend to be as dehydrating as their energy drink/soda brothers.
  • Weight Loss Pills-even though caffeine in no way helps us lose weight, most companies add caffeine to their weight loss pills. If you are taking weight loss pills with caffeine in them, it can raise health risks, especially if you are drinking coffee or tea while consuming them. (for example: Zantrax-3 contains about as much caffeine as 12 cups of coffee!)
  • Alcohol-There are many health risks related to drinking alcohol (of course, it depends on the type and amount being consumed) but now some beer companies are adding caffeine to their products as well.

Not all caffeine is bad! The symptoms I listed above and the problems that can be caused by caffeine is a person to person thing, and also depends on the amount and type of caffeine being consumed. To get good results from caffeine, and to stay on the healthy side, it is best to consume no more than 400 mg of caffeine a day and to drink/eat natural caffeine opposed to artificial caffeine.

Natural ways to Get Caffeine:

  • Chocolate
  • Coffee
  • Tea

My favorite is probably chocolate, and coffee used to be a close second. I was so addicted to coffee, if I didn’t have it in the morning or by noon, I was miserable later in the day. Now, I drink a cup or two of coffee a week.

I didn’t stop drinking coffee because it was unhealthy for me necessarily; but because after all the sugar, creamer, flavors etc I would add to it, it kind of was. That, and I found my new go to drink-good for so many reasons-and jam packed full of nutrients. Coffee is great-it is the pick me up I need in the morning and it really does give my brain a feeling of focus while helping me feel in the game. The problem I faced, I mean-not including the how unhealthy I made it, was after a few hours, I would crash-HARD-and need another cup of coffee, or something-anything, to keep me going.

I started drinking tea one day. I just sort of decided to try it-and I grew to love it, and fast! Then I began to experiment with different types of tea. White tea, Green Tea, Black Tea, flavored tea, plain tea. I somehow stumbled upon Green Matcha Tea, so I decided to try it. It’s claims for more steady energy were exactly what they said, but the flavor…Let’s just say, it isn’t bad-but it isn’t an every day taste. It has a very strong spinach or kale flavor – or some would say grassy flavor.

Despite the flavor-I found my energy was more steady and I didn’t crash. (especially if I drank it mid day or first thing in the morning) I felt healthier too. It acted as a natural detox, and I LOVED that!

 

So, when I found Red Leaf White Matcha, I was like hey-I want to try that! White Matcha has all the benefits of Matcha without the grassy flavor. It is a sweeter, more subtle taste and it goes great in oatmeal or yogurt. It even tastes great in cookies and muffins. (who could complain about energy/healthy packed baked goods?)

I absolutely LOVE Red Leaf White Matcha. It is high quality and tastes great. I actually just add a little to my regular cup of tea and you can hardly even tell it’s there! I wasn’t a huge fan of it by itself made as tea, but it tastes wonderful with other things such as baked goods, shakes/smoothies, and mixed in other teas. (flavored particularly)

I still get that kick I need in the morning or mid day, but I don’t crash and I don’t find myself rushing the morning to nap time because I’m so exhausted. I feel overall healthier. I am digesting foods better ( I attribute it to the detoxing abilities of matcha tea) and am also experiencing less cravings-probably due to drinking more tea and water between meals than I once did. I very highly recommend this Matcha and if white isn’t your flavor-they offer other varieties as well.

What are the health benefits of White Matcha?

  • High antioxidant count to kill free radicals in the blood stream
  • Reduces the risk of certain types of cancer
  • Decreases fine lines and wrinkles in the skin
  • Helps maintain a beautiful complexion
  • Has only one percent (1%) caffeine content of coffee

Product Description:

Usually when you hear the word Matcha, you automatically think about Green Tea. Well, we have put a spin on the Matcha name and technique with our White Matcha. White Matcha is made in exactly the same way as regular Green Tea Matcha is made: stone ground to a fine powder. But we have done it with White Tea. Why would we offer you a White Matcha? For people who like Matcha Tea in its original form as a Green Tea, you know how flavorful and pure it is. We want to give that to all tea lovers. Whether you like Green Tea, Black Tea, White Tea or any other kind of tea, we want you to experience the Matcha in different flavors.
What does stone grinding do for tea leaves? It is quite simple. This is special process that does not take away from the flavor or take away any of the health benefits of original tea leaves. Basically with the stone grinding process, you are getting the highest quality tea in its purest form outside of just having straight from the tea tree. It is simple and straightforward, leaving tea leaves with tons of flavor and amazing healthful qualities.
White Tea has some wonderful qualities to help maintain good health. In essence, White Matcha contains those same qualities with a purer taste.

 

Where to Get it: http://www.redleaftea.com/matcha-tea/white-matcha.html

 

*I am in no way a health care professional. All views in this post are my own beliefs and opinions and in no way should take the place of a doctors care.

 
I received one or more of the products mentioned above for free using Tomoson.com. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.

Leave a Reply

